Royal Southern Yacht Club unveils new Champion of Champions Trophy sponsored by Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc.

Launched in 2012 as part of the Royal Southern Yacht Club’s 175th Anniversary celebrations, this year marks the 5th year in which the Hamble-based Yacht Club and Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. have united to recognise the prestigious annual Champion of Champions award.  To mark this, Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. has kindly provided a Champion of Champions Trophy to be presented annually.

This prestigious title together with its generous prize of a return trip for two to Barbados, including superior hotel accommodation at the Island Inn Hotel from 16th Jan-23rd January, also allows the winners to take part in the Barbados Week sailing events.  The highlight is the 60nm Mount Gay Round Barbados Race and all this courtesy of Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. and the Barbados Cruising Club, and bestowed upon the owner of the most consistent and successful yacht in the Club’s four Summer Series Regattas held in May, June, July & September.

Images: Mike Blair’s King 40 Cobra (Paul Wyeth) and the new Champion of Champions Trophy, just awaiting the inscriptions.

Marc McCollin, Senior Business Development Officer, Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. is delighted to be adding such a beautiful Trophy into the prize mix, commenting: “It is a privilege to associate Barbados with the Royal Southern Yacht Club. Barbados provides its visitors with excellent water sports and world class hospitality ashore; those are values that the Royal Southern Yacht Club shares with us.”

This year’s winners, previously announced after the Barbados September Regatta as Mike & Seb Blair (King 40 Cobra, competing in IRC 1), will be presented with the 2016 Champion of Champions Trophy at the Royal Southern Yacht Club’s annual Prizegiving, a formal dinner and glittering celebration held at their riverside Club House in Hamble on Saturday November 12th. The Trophy is currently being engraved with the previous winners’ names as well as the names of this year’s winners, and will be presented on the night by Marc McCollin on behalf of Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc.

Previous Champion of Champions:

2015 – Annie Kelly & Andy Howe – Blackjack II

2014 – Iain MacKinnon – Tigh Soluis II

2013 – Nick & Adam Munday – IndulJence

2012 – Mike & Jamie Holmes – Jika-Jika



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s