Cruising in the ARC with The Grumpies Racing Team!

I am awaiting some images to come in from the start of the ARC 09 in Las Palmas – so in the meantime here’s one from 2008 that will be virtually replicated anyway.

 

The ARC start in Las Palmas (this was 2008) always photographed by Clare Pengelly

 

 

I am SO hoping I will get hold of a photo of this bunch to add to this page – these guys sound (and are) crazy lovely and between them have an extraordinary amount of cruising and racing experience.

•••

The Grumpies Racing Team are actually entered in the ARC 09 Cruising Division 1 on board the Jeanneau 45.2 Fenella. These characters are drawn from the Tuesday night meetings of grumpy old men at the infamous Chequers Inn in Lymington. If it were not for Tim Hagon dragging the average age down they would have aggregated 300 years on the planet.

Philip ‘Hutch’ Hutchinson – owner/skipper

My parents had a delightful habit of taking the family for a picnic off Princes Green (in Cowes on the Isle of Wight) during Cowes Week and as a small boy I would enjoy swimming amongst the yachts as they tried to cheat the tide._The excitement was intense, with the noise of the winches and the cries of ‘starboard’, ‘water’ and the odd grounding!  This was the taster I needed to get me into sailing.  By the age of eight I’d bought my own Cadet for £30 and joined the Island Sailing Club. At school I sailed Enterprises, GP 14s and Hornets. I remember meeting Uffa Fox and tried to work my way into the Cowes scene by making a few bob rowing drunken yachties out to their boats on Cowes Roads .

Whilst coming down on the train from London , I was press ganged at the bar to take part in the Channel Race on of the first Swan’s bought into the country, by Dave  Johnson, a Swan 36 known as ‘Carte Blanche’; I was still in my suit as we tacked round the Nab Tower! My new love for ocean racing had been cemented and  I went on to compete on several successful yachts such as ‘Mavarick’, ‘Carrillion’, ‘Marionette’, and ‘Yeoman’, winning our class in the Bermuda Race as well  the Admiral’s Cup in ‘77 and the Sardinia Cup ’79.

I was lucky enough to compete in 13 Fastnet Races  including racing in the disastrous ‘79 race. When I was courting, I persuaded my then future wife Gillie, to sail around the world. The idea worked and we were married. Unfortunately my father became critically ill and kids came along not to mention the dreaded mortgage and the idea was postponed; it was 37 later that I fulfilled my promise by completing our circumnavigation on my yacht ‘Fenella’ during the the Blue Water Rally 2006. The ARC is my next challenge, prior to sailing around the British Isles,­ another challenge that I am immensely  looking forward to.

Richard Jenner

Much older than would like to be but (happily) no longer working.
Spends most time messing about on water but not a perfectionist. For a little light relief enjoys occasional game of golf and regular intake of ale and wine.

Sailed all his life in various dinghies and yachts, mostly racing but have cruised in various parts including BVI, Med, France and West Country.
Recently aquired a 33′ Beneteau with wife Louise with plans to cruise more than race.

Currently Commodore of Lymington Town Sailing Club and a member of the Philip Hutchinson Old Boat Owners Club.

Tim Hagon

40,000 miles on various yachts including J-Class, IOR maxis, multihulls and superyachts. Will that do?

Alan Spriggs

Probably the first person to enter (at the press launch in the snow) and take part in the Atlantic RACE for Cruisers in 1986 in Pennypincher his Beneteau 375. Less race orientated than other members of Fenella’s crew but has 90,000 cruising miles in the log including a circumnavigation with Europa 92 in his Oyster 46 Pennypincher, crewing on the winning ARC yacht Gulkarna in 1993 and a single handed transatlantic in Pennypincher his Hallberg Rassy 42E to avoid the faux millennium celebrations in 1999/2000. Usually sails two handed with his wife….Penny.

John Morrow

He likes to sail everything from small dinghies to larger stuff and currently owns an XoD in Lymington for racing and a Maxi 1100 for relaxing. Prone to early passage seasickness but  always recovers in time for post race parties. He spent some time in the Southern Ocean in a Challenge yacht although he hears the Atlantic will be warmer!

 

Leave a Reply

